Are you in Cullman, AL and wondering if you need insurance for your car? The answer is yes – every state in the United States, including Alabama, has minimum insurance requirements for driving a car.
The Mandatory Liability Insurance Law of Alabama was passed in 2013 by state lawmakers, and it requires all Alabama car owners to have liability insurance for each car registered in their name.
The law requires these liability insurance coverage minimums:
– No less than $50,000 total for bodily injury or death per accident.
– At least $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person.
– And at least $25,000 for property damage.
In addition to these minimum requirements, Insurance Solutions Inc. offers several optional types of coverage, like collision, comprehensive, medical and funeral, and uninsured motorist coverage. Often, collision and comprehensive insurance are required if you are leasing or financing a car.
If you are pulled over or get in an accident while driving without the minimum coverage, there are severe consequences in the form of fines and suspensions. With your first violation, you’ll get $500 fine. With your second violation, you’ll get a $1,000 fine. You can also get your license and car registration suspended. Each time you get caught, your registration will be suspended for a mandatory four additional months. You’ll also have to pay to have your registration reinstated at the end of the suspension period. To get your license reinstated at the end of the suspension period, you have to file an SR22 with the state, which means that they will keep a closer eye on your insurance status moving forward.
If you want to avoid problems caused by driving uninsured, contact Insurance Solutions Inc. in Cullman, AL today, and see how much you can save on full coverage auto insurance!